October Wrap Up & November TBR | Life’s ruff.

Greetings readers!

Wow. October really did come to hurt me. And I’ll be honest November is not looking that bright either in terms of uni. I am honestly so overwhelmed just thinking about all the things I have to do. The end of the semester is only a month away and then exams! I have so much to do which is why my posting has been so sparse these past weeks. It will continue to be like that and it’s stressing me out because I am so behind on reviews! I promise to take it in stride though and not stress too much!

What Rendz Read

The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes
I really enjoyed this Mayan MG adventure! Mini Review!

Q: What godly power would you love to have?  As much as my younger self would plead for an elemental kind of power, today's Rendz would really love to handle time and space. I'm fascinated by the idea of time and dimensional travel. Imagine hopping from one time to another from one world to another. Is that not cool???? But great godly power requires great godly responsibility and I think that power would be a lot to handle πŸ˜…. But then again gods can do whatever they want πŸ˜‰, especially the Maya gods!  Speaking of Maya gods (what a great transition, Rendz) Last night  I finished The Storm Runner by @authorjcervantes and I am happy to say that I very much enjoyed it! It was fun, hilarious, outrageous and perfectly blends in Maya mythology. I loved spending time with Zane and the gang (Uncle Hondo is the coolest!) I'm so looking forward to reading the sequel, hopefully sooner rather than later!  #hispanicheritagemonth #latinxheritagemonth #cuentosunidos #bookstagram #mgbooks #octobertbr #books #middlegrade #kidlit #bookishcanadians #fantasy #magic #mayamythology #readriordan #disneybooks #jccervantes #reader #bookstagrammer #igbooks #igreads #fiction

A Dash of Trouble by Anna Meriano
I ADORED THIS. Please read it! Mini Review!

Q: What power would you want to have as a witch?  It's almost October and you know what that means? Spooky season! πŸ‘»  I love Halloween and all the magic, myth and mayhem that comes with it. I used to dress up as a witch almost every year as a kid and it soon became my staple costume!  I can't wait for the movies to start playing on TV. Since I'm not a horror fan, I really prefer the cheesy, magical movies of Disney Channel πŸ˜‚ I really can't do scary, I just like the magic of the season.  I'm curious if you have a favourite  Halloween movie?  I'm super excited to pick up this book very soon! A Dash of Trouble features a family of witches, delicious treats, magic and mayhem so I know it will sweep me off my feet!  #lovesugarmagic #adashoftrouble #annameriano #hispanicheritagemonth #latinxheritagemonth #cuentosunidos #bookstagram #mgbooks #octobertbr #books #middlegrade #kidlit #bookishcanadians #fantasy #magic #witches

Five Midnights by Ann Davila Cardinal
A really good Latinx horror novel! Review to come!

Q: What scary tales were you told as a kid?  It's spooky season and it's the perfect time to read scary tales. Although I am not one for much spook I really enjoyed this recent YA horror set in Puerto Rico based around the myth of El Cuco and the mysterious deaths of five friends.  I had a really great time reading this! It had a great cast of characters, very spooky scenes and some shocking twists! FIVE MIDNIGHTS by @anndavilacardinal is sure to keep you at the edge of your seat!  Many thanks to @torteen for the review copy! Be sure to pick up yours today!  #fivemidnights #anndavilacardinal #yahorror #bookstagram #reader #books #igbooks #igreads #spookyseason #horrorbooks #latinxbooks #latinxreads

The Beautiful by Renee Ahdieh
I needed more vampires tbh. Review to come!

Cupid’s Match by Lauren Palphreyman
This was fun for a cheesy book! My Review!

Gravemaidens by Kelly Coon
This was not it for me. Review to come!

Crooked Raven by Talis Jones – DNF

Waiting for the Beast by T. Hayden – DNF

6 read books is not bad considering the month I had!

The Haul

Rebel by Marie Lu
Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo
Red Rising by Pierce Brown
The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace
The Opposite of Falling Apart by Micah Good
Wicked As You Wish by Rin Chupeco

Posts of the Month!

THEME THURSDAY | Witches // The Perfect Theme!

theme-thursday-witches

The Bookish Feels | Books that make me WEEP // Let’s cry together

THE BOOKISH FEELS weep

Contemporary Romances that I Want to Read| I Am Actually So Ready to be Attacked by Fluff and Fun!

Contemporary Romances that i want to read!

Other Going-Ons

The Grisha Cast Announcement

Ben Barnes Hot Guys GIF
via giphy.com

BEN MOTHER FREAKING BARNES, AKA PRINCE CASPIAN IS GOING TO BE PLAYING THE DARKLING AND I ABSOLUTELY LOST MY SHIT THE DAY I FOUND OUT.
*Breathes*
What can I say, that hasn’t already been said? I am super excited for the show. I stalk all the actors’ Instagram accounts for updates. I even followed some update accounts because I am that obsessed. I love the memes and edits that have already come out!

Do I think they got the casting perfect? No. Am I a little disappointed? Yes. I don’t know how they would fix it, but it’s important to note that they’ve already made some mistakes.

Hispanic Heritage Month Wrap-Up

The first half of October was dedicated to getting my HHM TBR done and I am happy to say I read all four novels I wanted to read! I also put my face (well half of it) on Instagram so go follow my account to see me lol! I have to say of the four I read, A Dash of Trouble by Anna Meriano was my favourite! It was absolutely adorable and I loved everything about it!

I Bought A Signed First Edition of The Penderwicks

There can be miracles. I knew that the used bookstore I usually visit had a hardback copy of TP and I had no intention of buying it until I talked myself into doing so this month and to my absolute joy IT WAS SIGNED! I lost my shit in the store and my sister and mother were super embarrassed of me, but I was too happy to care. I think this book is one of my most prized possessions now!

TBR

I am in a serious romance mood. Don’t ask me why, this really sprung out of nowhere. BUT I still have a lot of ARCs to get to so I will try and find that balance!

The Bride Test by Helen Hoang
Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibert
Cold Falling White by G.S. Prendergast
A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy
Song of a Crimson Flower by Julie C. Dao
The Collected Works of Gretchen Oyester by Cary Fagan

Q: What is your favourite season?  Since I'm a summer baby, that is obviously my main answer. But I find something appealing about each season, really. I love the changing colours of fall, I love the holiday season and pristine white of winter, AND Spring means winter is finally over which is a blessing in Canada!  Zero Repeat Forever by @gsprendergast takes place in a futuristic-Canada when an alien race invades! It follows Raven, a survivor and Eighth, a Nahx soldier through the many trials they encounter over the course of four seasons. I remember really enjoying myself when I read it the first time around and I look forward to rereading it before diving into the sequel, Cold Falling White!  Many thanks to @simonschusterca for sending me these lovely review copies!  #zerorepeatforever #coldfallingwhite #gsprendergast #reader #bookishcanadians #fantasy #youngadultbooks #dystopianfiction #canadianauthor #bookstagram #scifi #yabooks #books #reader #igreads #bookaddict #thenahxinvasions #arc #simonandschuster #bookstagrammer #teenreads


I don’t think it will all get done. I have a tough few weeks ahead with exams and final assignments. I’ll be honest, as I’m writing I’m fighting back against the crushing weight of a horrible day where I failed in more ways the one. I can only try again tomorrow. I’m glad I can find some comfort in my reading!

On that lovely note…Let me know what you think!Β How was your October? What were your favourite reads? What do you have planned for November?

Happy reading!

~ Rendz

read

7 thoughts on “October Wrap Up & November TBR | Life’s ruff.

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑