Is this a recap, a wrap-up, a where am I now? | Hi again…It’s been a while and it is nice to be back.

Greetings readers!

Hiya, how is it going? What have you been up to? It has been like two weeks since I have been on here and I feel like I have missed soooooo much. (Trust me I have a lot of blog hopping to do and it will happen soon). Right now I guess I would wrap up what I got done before I headed into exam season and what has happened since then. Obviously skipping over my exam shenanigans.

SO WHAT REALLY HAS HAPPENED?

I honestly don’t know. It’s all kind of like a blur to me…..thank goodness for Goodreads and social media that keeps me on track. XD

This is going to be a combination of of November and December until today and I will be highlighting a Holiday TBR that is most definitely far too ambitious but I am going to try anyways!

wrap-up-3

What Rendz Read from November to December (18th)

Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I am in love! This is an Adult fantasy series you definitely do not want to miss! My Full Review

Empire of Sand

Goodnight, Anne by Kallie George
Adorable! So cute! So much fun! Perfect for Anne fans! Mini-Review

The Magician’s Secret by Zachary Hyman
So magical and imaginative! Perfect for the reader with a wild mind! Mini-Review

Grim Lovelies by Megan Shepherd
I will be honest, this book was a tad over-hyped! More than a little boring in places and I just honestly feel very meh about it! Full review to come!

A Spark of White Fire by Sangu Mandanna
This was super great! I had such a great time reading and I flew through this!! Full review to come!

A Mark Unwilling by Candace Wondrak
Not my cup of tea at all! I had so many problems with this and just nope, nope, nope! Full Goodreads review!

Fence (issues #1-12) by C. S. Pacat
So much fun. Hilarious! Hoopla truly blessed me these comics!


The Haul

Archenemies by Marissa Meyer (Indigo purchase)

HCC Frenzy ARCs
The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Ben Phillipe
Circle of Shadows by Evelyn Skye

Hachette Book Group Canada
Strange the Dreamer & Muse of Nightmares by Laini Taylor

Raincoast Books
A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

Black Friday Book Outlet Book Haul!
(I splurged and I may have some regrets, but not really!)
The Beautiful Ones by SIlvia Moreno-Garcia
City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty
The Last Namsara by Kristin Ciccarelli
Even the Darkest Stars by Heather Fawcett
Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George
Blood and Sand by C. V. Wyk
The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury
A Dash of Trouble (Love Sugar Magic) by Anna Meriano

Featured Posts of the Month!

For those still looking for some holiday picks!

Perfect Picture Books to get this Holiday Season from Tundra Books! | A Double Dose of Anne & a Magical Secret!

Perfect Picture Books to get this Holiday Season from Tundra Books!

Let’s Be Honest, I’m Never Gonna Read These Books!

Let's Be Honest I'm Never Gonna Read These Books!

Other Going-Ons

I MEAN BESIDES STUDYING……………..HAVE I REALLY BEEN UP TO ANYTHING??

THE FAN ART BRAIN HAS BEEN TINGLING!

There are things coming people. I mean…I haven’t started anything yet, but I have lots of ideas and I cannot wait to start!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THE LION KING TEASER TRAILER HAPPENED

I mean….if they do an exact replica of the original movie only with a different type of animation, I am not exactly complaining….!

I WATCHED THE ANNE OF GREEN GABLES 1985 SULLIVAN ADAPTATION (AGAIN)

It’s just so, so great! I feel like watching it again!

TBR

It’s ambitious. It’s not gonna get done. It’s totally over the top. But A girl can dream!

The Grisha Trilogy & The Language of Thorns
I was actually planning a giant Leigh Bardugo reread in preparation of King of Scars (but I do not think I will be getting to SoC and CK before January)

Kingdom of Ash by Sarah J. Maas
Unfortunately. I am tired of having to be so cautious of spoilers and I might as well get it over with. I am trying to keep an open mind while reading, but I make no promises.

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Ben Phillipe

Circle of Shadows by Evelyn Skye

The Sisters of Winter Wood by Rena Rossner

Archenemies by Marissa Meyer

Truthwitch & Windwitch by Susan Dennard
If I read these, my sister will read An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir!!! She is sitting beside me right now judging me, but I am putting it in writing to cement this promise.

I am lucky if I even finish that monstrous Maas novel in the next two weeks. But a girl can try!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


I will do a Holiday Wrap-Up at the beginning of January to let you know about my progress! The new year has so many amazing books coming and I was lucky enough to get my hands on some ARCs that just make 2019 even more exciting!!!!!

Let me know what you have been up to! I promise to visit your blogs as soon as I can!

Happy reading!

~ Rendz

13 thoughts on “Is this a recap, a wrap-up, a where am I now? | Hi again…It’s been a while and it is nice to be back.

Add yours

  1. Welcome back, Rendz! *hugs* Wow, you’ve been up to a lot these past few weeks… :O
    I’m glad to see you’ve enjoyed most of the books you’ve read, though shame about Grim Lovelies – I kept seeing it everywhere and everything about it made me want to go get it ASAP, though now I’m not in such a hurry xD
    Best of luck finishing Grisha before King of Scars’s release! I’m so so excited about it I can’t ❤ And that Lion King trailer was everything and more, I NEED that movie in my life soooon (and also Aladdin, which by the look of the recent photos looks just as awesome!)
    I hope you enjoy the rest of December, hon ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sophie!! ❤ I have been through quite a lot but I am so excited to get back into the blogging/reading groove! Grim Lovelies was just not enough for me (If that makes any sense). I have a review coming this Friday that will explain much more about why it just did not work with me!
      And yes!!!! I am so excited for King of Scars and reading the Grisha trilogy is bringing back all the nostalgia!
      AND DISNEY IS GETTING PRACTICALLY ALL MY MONEY WITH THESE MOVIES THEY HAVE COMING!

      Like

      1. I’ll have to read your review!! I’ve been so busy with the holidays that I have had little time to hop around as well but I’ll try my best 🙂
        You’re making me want to re-read it too now ❤ ❤ I miss it so much T_T
        I KNOW RIGHT?? AAARGHHH I CAN'T WAIT :DDD

        Liked by 1 person

  2. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BUT YESSSSSSSSS I can’t wait for you to read Kingdom of ASH omggg. (I thought you hadn’t read any SJM?) I need your thoughts and review omg.

    It is so good seeing you bacckk. I am glad you survived exaammsss. (Ahahaha omg I wish Mandy and I did not blog break literally the day after you came back, bad timing.) I ALSO Book Outlet Black Friday shopped and we mind melded on the Jessica Khoury book and The Last Namsara. That sale was so goood who could say no?

    Question about HCC Frenzy. Did you request those ARCS? I’m looking for a list online about the upcoming releases *they* specifically handle but can’t find one.

    LION KING TRAILER. OMG. My absolute fave Disney film and I am so tooorn on how to feel? I saw the trailer for the first time when I went to see the new Mary Poppins (which I did not enjoy) and I’m like, These remakes/sequels are not succeeding. But also, I had feels when I saw that trailer. So should I go? Orrrr…???

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh SHA. Oh I have read SJM. And I finished Kingdom of Ash. And I have thoughts. And most are petty. I don’t know how you feel about her, but my opinions aren’t all that positive…..

      It is nice to be back (although I am on my last weekend of break before the real work begins :(. I saw a pic of your BookOutlet order and I am excited! It was such a great deal, I had to take advantage!

      Frenzy doesn’t have like a designated list but if you go to http://www.harpercollins.ca and browse their upcoming titles it should give you an idea. I usually request titles through an email. If you want their contact info, I’ll twitter DM you!

      And as for these Disney remakes….like they may not be the best things in the world, but I am gonna watch them anyways so!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have not read any SJM. Because I can anticipate how low my opinion will be of the books, and so I will not 1) waste my time 2) read just to rant away on a book that I know so many people love. I mean, sure, I can write rants. I like reading them too. But if I fully know that reading will only lead to pain and rants, I’mma hard swerve on that. Will you be sharing your petty thoughts? I am interested to hear!

        Oh no, did I tempt you to the dark side with my book pic? I feel apologetic but also not because the deal was really very good. Noooooooo why do I come back and when you leaaave. Will you still be blogging for a bit before uni truly swallows you whole again?

        I did contact, actually! Which is why I ask, uhhhh I was so lost on what their books were VS weren’t I just made a shot in the dark and was like “please send me your books.” (and then they replied like, “thanks but be more specific and we will help ya out girl!) neither reply being word for word lol. I guess I should just request and if they have no rights to a book, they simply won’t send?

        Agreed! I mean, I will never say no to Disney. (Except maybe Dumbo. I might avoid that one until it’s on Netflix. Because I never liked that movie.)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Petty rant coming very very soon. Save yourself from the SJM train, Sha. It’s a better world that way.

        I am trying my best to blog before uni, but the time has come and I got lazy over my break LOL

        Try your shot at requesting! You can always check who the publisher is on Indigo’s website if you are not sure. But scrolling through Harper’s website is the best option!

        Yeah Imma skip Dumbo too. Never watched the original…very little chance I’ll watch the live action one.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooooh I didn’t realize you read Fence! It is such a fun, great series. That art is amazingggggggggggg. That haul is amazing, and I’ll be interested to see what you think of Strange the Dreamer. I hear so so much hype for it, and I want to see how you feel about it. The grisha readathon fell at just the right time. 😉 Wonderful wrap-up, Rendz! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I had seen on GR that you had picked Fence up and I realized that I could borrow ecopies on Hoopla, so I’m like f-it! Let’s read them. (This happened in the midst of my exam season) AND omg it was so greattttttt!!! I flew threw and I love all the boys!
      I’m excited for Strange. I feel like Laini Taylor was an author I needed to grow into bc her previous series (I only read book 1 and it didn’t strike me as much)
      AND BOY OH BOY DID MY GRISHA REREAD HAPPEN AT A GOOD TIME *sobs*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑