Mini Reviews | Sabriel & I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl

Greetings readers!

Library hauls call for lots of books. Lots of books call for lots of reviews.

Lots of reviews make Rendz lazy, so she pushes them off for weeks!

Then full reviews turn into mini reviews and multiple mini reviews take up one post!

Making Rendz’s head ache!

But I’ve read so many good books that I just need to share them with you guys, so multiple mini reviews it shall be!

Sabriel by Garth Nix

Sabriel (Abhorsen,  #1)
via Goodreads

Sent to a boarding school in Ancelstierre as a young child, Sabriel has had little experience with the random power of Free Magic or the Dead who refuse to stay dead in the Old Kingdom. But during her final semester, her father, the Abhorsen, goes missing, and Sabriel knows she must enter the Old Kingdom to find him.

With Sabriel, the first installment in the Abhorsen series, Garth Nix exploded onto the fantasy scene as a rising star, in a novel that takes readers to a world where the line between the living and the dead isn’t always clear—and sometimes disappears altogether.

This is a classic fantasy book that I have been wanting to read for a while!

The Likes:

  • Wow…..what a prologue of intrigue!
  • Sabriel = funny, smart and so, so, so brave! I loved every minute of her adventure!
  • WOW NECROMANCY MAGIC WOAH!!!! YES. YES. YES. With BELLS, how cool!
  • Travelling through the Nine Gates of “Hell”, WOAH!
  • Sassy talking cat!!! Mogget was the funniest character and honestly made the whole book for me!
  • The fantasy world itself was so magical! There was a lot of mystery and so much exploring to be done in the realm
  • Literally cannot pronounce any of the fantastical words.
  • The bad guys were on point!
  • Why….Hello Touchstone. Broody, smol, funny bean! *bats eyelashes*
  • The adventure itself was fun and very twisty. There were a lot of things that went wrong and the final battle held a lot of heartbreak! Right up to the last page!
  • The epilogue saved my soul.

The Dislikes:

  • I was confused quite a bit, there were so many different clans and types of magic that didn’t fully click in my mind!
  • It was a little slow sometimes…I kind of got tired of reading. And the beginning chapters when Sabriel was alone were the most grueling!
  • Despite there being so much magic, I needed more. I needed clarification. (Do I even make sense??)

Overall it was a good book. I look forward to reading the next book, but I’m afraid it focuses on other characters in the realm! Hopefully Sabriel’s story isn’t completely finished!

Rating: 3.5 / 5 Stars

Recommend: For the classic Fantasy lovers!



I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl  by Gretchen McNeil

I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl
via Goodreads

From acclaimed author Gretchen McNeil comes her first realistic contemporary romance—perfect for fans of Kody Keplinger’s The Duff  and Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone.

Beatrice Maria Estrella Giovannini has life all figured out. She’s starting senior year at the top of her class, she’s a shoo-in for a scholarship to M.I.T., and she’s got a new boyfriend she’s crazy about. The only problem: All through high school Bea and her best friends Spencer and Gabe have been the targets of horrific bullying.

So Bea uses her math skills to come up with The Formula, a 100% mathematically guaranteed path to social happiness in high school. Now Gabe is on his way to becoming Student Body President, and Spencer is finally getting his art noticed. But when her boyfriend Jesse dumps her for Toile, the quirky new girl at school, Bea realizes it’s time to use The Formula for herself. She’ll be reinvented as the eccentric and lovable Trixie—a quintessential manic pixie dream girl—in order to win Jesse back and beat new-girl Toile at her own game.

Unfortunately, being a manic pixie dream girl isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, and “Trixie” is causing unexpected consequences for her friends. As The Formula begins to break down, can Bea find a way to reclaim her true identity and fix everything she’s messed up? Or will the casualties of her manic pixie experiment go far deeper than she could possibly imagine?

Another summer contemporary read that I have been eyeing for a while!

The Likes

  • Beatrice is fun and quirky! A half Filipina MC! She is definitely flawed, but she does have a super amazing brain that can work things out so quickly. Things that are math related of course….things like relationships need more time in the processor for her!
  • Spencer…broody, moody artist! Très wow!
  • Gabe! The heart and soul of the book! Awwwwwwwwwwww!!!!
  • It took a bit, but I finally understand what a Manic Pixie Dream Girl is!
  • Although I was very #TRIGGERED by all the calculus that was in this book, I enjoyed it and it even made some sense! (not a lot though…)
  • Drama. Lived for it.
  • Second Hand Embarrassment is at an all time super high in this one.
  • I laughed A LOT. I love that French part XD
  • The ending: Millions of heart eyes!!!! Awwwwwwwwww!!!!
  • Romance: IT TOOK FOREVER *did I mention that Bea was not great at analyzing relationships?*

The Dislikes

  • Not a lot of girl friendships until the very, very, very, very end and it was super super minimal, it’s actually a lot of girl on girl hate because Bea has such a hard time relating to others.
  • It was super mellow! Even the most suspenseful or heart-stopping moments didn’t make me budge.
  • Maybe a little more detail in Bea’s messed up parents life?? (This is mainly me just wanting to know more because honestly her mom and dad are nuts. Locos.)

Overall, it was a cute solid contemporary. It wasn’t as heart warming and intense as I was hoping but it was very, very funny! A perfect summer read, even though it takes place during the school year 🙂

Rating: 3.75 / 5 Stars

Recommend: For the lovers of contemporary who want to laugh!


*wipes forehead* Phew! That was something! Two of my okay reads this past month! I look forward to reviewing some of my higher rated books later this month!

Let me know what you guys think! Have you read these? What classic fantasies do you have yet to get to? Any other humour filled contemporary recs?

Happy reading!

~ Rendz

read

6 thoughts on “Mini Reviews | Sabriel & I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s