Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault Review

Greetings readers!

I am slowly making my way through my NetGalley reads! I’ll get to them all, you’ll see! I decided to pick this book up over another one of my NG reads because I found out that it was released last week, so I wanted to get to it soon.

This book was actually written by a local blogger Candace Robinson over @ Literary Dust. If you are interested in learning more about her books visit her blog.

Quinsey Wolfe's Glass Vault (Glass Vault, #1)

via Goodreads

Goodreads Summary

Some see it… Some don’t…

People in the town of Deer Park, Texas are vanishing. There is a strange museum, known as Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault, that appears overnight. Perrie Madeline’s best friend and ex-boyfriend are among the missing. Perrie, along with her friend August, go on a pursuit to search for them in the mysterious museum. Could the elusive Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault have anything to do with their disappearances?

A book that intertwines horror elements and retellings, with humor and darkness

*I was provided a free copy via NetGalley*

Hmmmm where do I begin. Ah, I know.

Retellings.

Retellings. BUT with a twist. A DARK twist. A really dark twist. This book was sold to me with the promise of horrorish-retellings with a bit of humour and darkness. I got exactly that. I really enjoyed this novel quite a bit. Going in I didn’t know exactly what to expect other then well, retellings and horror. Now I am not a huge horror fan (since I am a wimp), but this novel did the horror aspect in a very gruesome yet Rendz-readable way.

Perrie, Maisie, August and Neven went on a grand adventure in this book. Not every turn of events was good, in fact they were all actually bad! These poor characters suffered a lot in this book and they never got a break. Perrie was a great main character, she was brave despite the situations she was put in. Maisie was the best character. So fun, loving and adventurous. Perhaps a little too adventurous so it led to a lot of trouble! Neven, although he is not very developed or present in the story, he played an important role in Perrie’s life and was the cause for many of her decisions. Then there is August. August, August, August…sweet and innocent August. Oh August!

I really liked the missing persons element to the story, it kept me on my toes. Who would go missing next, why would they go missing and where are they? It added to the spookier elements of the story as more “important” people went missing. Then there was the mysterious Glass Vault that was so elusive until the characters entered it and all the craziness began to occur. Along the way there were different clues that I picked up on, but did I infer the grand revelation at the end? NOPE! Nothing prepared me for the ending. It was awesome.

 what worried blink staring blinking GIF

via giphy.com

Now, I’d like to think that the horror aspects of this novel were in terms of how gruesome it could be at times. There is a lot of blood spilled, many lives lost. It was not scary-scary but it was difficult to read sometimes. It’s one of those books where you can feel the pain some of the characters are going through! It was gruesome, but fun! I enjoyed it. *I am not a blood thirsty maniac*

My absolute favourite part (which I failed to mention at the beginning of my review πŸ˜‰ ) is the retelling aspect. There are retellings of fairy tales, nursery rhymes and legends! The first three retellings are based off of stories that are actually deemed scary, but the last two I would have never seen that horror aspect in them. Specifically the fourth one. Damn, that was gruesome.

 yikes snow white run away noooo GIF

via giphy.com

Despite all the goodness there was some room for improvement. The writing style was not my favourite. Perrie, like used like in like every sentence, like it got, like annoying. It even got like, even worse when she like started using even and like together. I’m sorry, teenagers don’t always talk like that. They do, just not all the time. It was very repetitive and took away from my reading experience.

Also, I was not a fan of Perrie’s consistent flash backs and backstories. There were more important things happening in the moment that she should not have been focusing on the time when Maisie and her played in the garden or when she went to prom. There were more important things to think about!

Other than those few setbacks, I really enjoyed this novel. It was entertaining, spooky and mysterious. I absolutely ADORED the ending because it was a slap in the face and I kept thinking about it days after I had finished the novel. Candace, if you read this and you are ever willing to write me a sequel or tell me what happens after that ending. I am here!

Rating: 4 / 5 stars (After giving it an initial 3.75, I bumped it up because the ending people. The ending.)

Recommend: For those looking for a spooky, mysterious and fast read!

I know what you are all thinking “This is not how Rendz typically formats her reviews, what is up?”. I decided to give this format a try. It’s not my favourite way of writing reviews, but it’s not bad. However, I think my next review will be formatted like how I usually do!

I hope you all consider picking up Candice’s book. She is also running a Goodreads giveaway if you want to check that out here!

Happy reading!

~ Rendz

get-reaidng

13 thoughts on “Quinsey Wolfe’s Glass Vault Review

  1. bookprincessreviews says:

    I keep seeing this book on a bunch of different people’s blogs, but it wasn’t until yours that I actually read the descriptions. Dark retellings and a mysterious museum? Um, so intriguing. And if you say the retellings were good, then I am super intrigued. I just can’t do gruesome so much. Was it bad? D: Wonderful review, Rendz (um, like I’m never going to say that ;))!!! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Reading with Rendz says:

      It wasn’t too gruesome! Just a little blood and some gore. Totally readable…though some of the Disney Princesses may not be happy with the turn of events in their stories….πŸ™ƒπŸ™ƒπŸ™ƒ *whispers* Snow & Rapunzel

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Literary Dust says:

    Yay thanks for the awesome review!!!! This was my first book, and I am self published lol. Forgive me for some of the redundant word usage. Here in Deer Park there is a lot of the use of “like” so it’s hard to remove it Lol!!!!!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I will most definitely keep that in mind for book 2, though! 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    First of all, the cover is gorgeous and second of all, that’s so cool to see another blogger making it into the publishing/self-publishing world!! ❀
    Lovely review, Renz! I'm glad the ending made up for everything else that was not as great. I love when books surprise us at the end!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

