Desert Island Book Tag!

Greetings readers!

Alas, this is the second time I write this post! I had already had this done two weeks ago. It was ready to go and scheduled to be published, but I learned a very valuable lesson. Do not, I repeat do not, read over a post in the middle of the night, when your phone/device is about to die. Do not delete any letter or character when you know said device is being slow and wonky. Do not, under any circumstance press the backspace button after pressing “Update” because you cannot undo that action! If you do (and I’m speaking from experience) your polished post will be lost forever, or at least I was not able to retrieve mine!

 internet GIF

giphy.com

ANYWAYS! I was tagged by the lovely Mandy, over at Book Princess Reviews to do the Desert Island Book Tag. I’m sure you have all heard of her highness Mandy, but if you haven’t you totally should! She’s kind, awesome and writes such fun posts!

The Rules!

  • Link back to my (BookBum’s) original post, so I can see all your answers! (Remember to do this via pingback, I don’t get notified if you just tag my url)
  • Thank the person(s) who tagged you… show some love!
  • Come up with your answers
  • Then tag others to keep the tag going!
desert-island-discs

credits to Zuky the creator!

Being stuck on a desert island would be a nightmare for me. I do enjoy camping, but I am not very experienced in the outdoors. I mean, I could “maybe” survive but that would mean forcing myself to eat fish! Which is a big NO. I hate seafood! I would dread the whole desert island experience, but I’m still very excited to do this tag!

PREMISE OF DESERT ISLAND DISCS…

You are cast away onto a remote island:

  • You can bring 5 albums, what are they?
  • You can bring ONE book (not including The Bible (or other appropriate religious texts) or The Complete Works of Shakespeare, as they are already provided and NO SERIES), what ONE book is it?
  • You can have one luxury item (it has to be inanimate and can’t help you escape the island), what is it?

Rendz on her dreaded island adventure!

5 Albums!

The Chronicles of Narnia

via Amazon

The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe (Original soundtrack & score) ~ Harry Gregson-Williams.

I would not be the epic Narnia fan I am today without this music. This music is the theme song of my life. I have listened to it so much, I know the order of the songs by heart. The music is magical, just like the movie. I can relive all my favourite scenes and sometimes recite dialogue! I love it that much!

Fave song: The Wardrobe & The Battle

 

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian

via Amazon

Prince Caspian (Original soundtrack & score) ~ Harry Gregson-Williams

No-brainer here! This music is definitely more intense than the first soundtrack. It gets me pumped and my adrenaline going.  I also get to relive the movie with this music. It would get me in the mood to go hunting and stuff for food when I’m trapped on my island!

Fave song: Raid on the Castle

 

 

via Amazon

Christmas ~ Michael Bublé

It can be any time of the year and I will sing these songs at the top of my lungs. It can be the hottest day in the middle of the summer when we are months away from winter and the holiday season, it can sweltering, but if a single song from this soundtrack plays, you will find me cuddled under a cozy blanket with hot chocolate. I love and will always love it that much!

Fave song: Blue Christmas

 

via Amazon

The Prince of Egypt (Original Soundtrack & Score) ~ Hans Zimmer

If you lived in my house, you would hear this soundtrack regularly. No, not from YouTube. Instead you would have the pleasure of hearing the main vocals, back-up vocals, background sounds and occasional dialogue all from the (not-so-great) musical stylings of Rendz! I apologize to your ears in advance! Then again no one on the desert island would be there to hear me!

Fave Song: Following Tzipporah/ All I Ever Wanted

 

The Cheetah Girls 2

via Amazon

The Cheetah Girls 2 (original soundtrack) ~ various artists

This is a classic throwback for me. I loved The Cheetah Girls growing up. I thought they were fabulous and funny. The Cheetah Girls 2 will always be my favourite, as it started my fascination for Spain and brought up my desire to get there some day and well, you know strut! This music gets me in a dancing mood, and no one would be able to witness those catastrophic moves on a secluded island!

Fave song: Strut

One Book

Dang, the rules are really strict for this one. Zuky must have had some intuition on me because I love to cheat when it comes to picking one book!15538535_246709549084019_3459499958250504192_n

I’m going to steal Mandy’s answer and say Winter by Marissa Meyer. I know you are all shocked I didn’t say Narnia. Well I’m pretty content with my Narnia music from the albums so let’s bring in some variety. I loved Winter. It was one of the best series finales ever. It had great action, heartbreak, fantastic heroines, great friendships and cute moments that made me ooze with feels. And it also had Thorne, so yeah. I’ll need my daily fix of him!

 

One Luxury Item

A mirror.

No, I’m not vain.

I won’t particularly care what I look like on this desert island. So why a mirror? Like many things, a mirror has more than one purpose. After some good thought I concluded that a mirror would be one of the most useful things I could have.
1. I could start a fire. (I don’t know about you, but I think I would have better luck with a mirror and the sun than with sticks & stones!)
2. I could break it and use the shards as knives. (I might need to cut stuff up!)
3. I could talk to myself (Will that keep me more sane?)
4. I could create signals by reflecting light! (I have no clue if that will even work)

Yeah, a mirror.

I Tag:

Oh gosh! So I kind of forgot who I tagged the first time I wrote this! So I’ll just make up a new list! If you have already done this, don’t sweat skipping over this!

LilbooKLovers

Too Much of A Book Nerd

Book Snacks

Kyera’s Library


Alright all done, for the second time now. Although I don’t think this post has the same charm as the original one I wrote, I hope you all enjoyed this. As for my island adventure, I may not enjoy living on that island, but I would definitely enjoy listening to music and dancing around like a fool. I would enjoy my book and never get tired of it! And I’d be running around talking to myself in my mirror!

I might still go crazy,  but that’s okay! How do you think I would fair with my selected belongings?

Happy reading!

~ Rendz

read

20 thoughts on “Desert Island Book Tag!

  1. Zuky the BookBum says:

    This is awesome, thanks so much for doing my tag!! I love that you put Buble’s Christmas album on your list. You’re right though, I could sing that any time of year! It’s such a fun album. Also, the mirror is a great idea! Good choices all round 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jasmine says:

    Love your answers and reasoning with a mirror! I love Winter too and Thorne, yeah, can’t deny his charms haha.. I need to re-read Narnia, it’s been so long and I’m starting to forget hehe..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bookprincessreviews says:

    Omigosh, I literally sat there and was like, wait, a mirror? WAIT, FIRE, RENDZ IS EVEN MORE OF A HIGH GENIUS THAN I ALREADY KNEW SHE WAS. But that was genius. I’m so impressed. You may survive the island yet! And oooh Cheetah Girls. That was a good jam. although I literally can’t remember anything from them. Something to look up for sure. XD And yayyyyyyyyyyyyy Winter!! I understand the hardness with Narnia, but at least here, you get the wondrous ships and happily ever after. Wonderful post as always, Rendz!!!!!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

